User

ThamesCarStorage

Rank

Non Member

Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:55 pm

Abingdon

1988 Venturi 200 - tech help needed

Postby ThamesCarStorage » Mon Nov 14, 2016 5:30 pm

I have recently taken on a Venturi 200 that has been sat for a couple of years. I have some experience taking cars apart and repairing them, but am stumped here, mainly by a lack of info. I have owned loads of different cars and, being a petrolhead, was always an admirer of the characteristics of a Venturi, so I am chuffed to have one now.

As it only ran on 5 (although with commendable gusto considering its lack of a full set!) I have taken it upon myself to change the ignition and remove and clean the fuel injectors. So far so good. Injectors and rail off. Had more trouble with the plug leads, and here are the first of my questions:

Is it possible to remove distributor cap with engine in situ? Old chestnut, I know.
If not, Is there a cunning plan for removing the plug leads from the cap?
My car has a big, carpeted 'hatch' behind the passenger seat in the bulkhead, would this be of use?

The obvious thing would be to unscrew this hatch and poke around inside, but therein lies my next problem...the passenger seat will not forward or back, the motor tries to jerk into action but instantly stops, I presume because the mechanism is stuck. So my next question is: how do you remove the seat as the normal four bolts I expect to see on any other car are not really there? I notice four suspicious welded circles underneath the car, is this where we go in (fire up the angle grinder)?

I would move the (mercifully not stuck) driver's seat to find some of the answers to the above, but turning on the ignition, pumps fuel from my disconnected fuel rail pipes, doh! Tried to locate a fuel pump fuse, but failed there too. Aaaahhhh!

Well that was a couple of hours of my life I will never get back....