User

peterg

Rank

Non Member

Wed Apr 14, 2004 10:26 pm

Cumbria

Dump valve

Postby peterg » Wed Apr 28, 2004 3:30 pm

I have limited experience of turbo engines (but its exciting finding out how cheap and easy it is to get major power hikes :twisted: )......what will a dump valve do for my GTA turbo, is it worth buying and will it improve acceleration, power or what????
User

David Gentleman

Rank

Non Member

Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:10 am

Colchester, Essex

dump valves

Postby David Gentleman » Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:57 pm

The GTA has got a closed loop dump valve as standard, meaning it 'dumps' back into the intake system, so you cant hear it. It wont improve performance unless (a) the original one is leaking, or (b) your running say 14psi and the original one cant hold the pressure. Don't go for a normal diaphragm dumpvalve, go for a piston type..more reliable and better made. Normally £60-110 depending on brand. The Bailey one at £85 is the best, fully polished alloy and will dump into the atmosphere and make the great 'tissssshhh' sound. For £110 you can buy a Bailey Closed loop dumpvalve like the original...no sound but more reliable.
no avatar
User

rupert

Rank

Non Member

Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:39 pm

Plymouth, Devon

Postby rupert » Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:37 pm

Bear in mind that a dump valve doesnt actually increase power tho'.

All it does is prevent the build up of gases occuring in the intercooler/plenum area (which has the effect of slowing up the turbo spin rate) when the throttle is shut during a gear change.... thus keeping the turbo spinning. The idea is that it then ensures that there is immediate boost pressure when you open the throttle again...

Does that make sense?
User

David Gentleman

Rank

Non Member

Colchester, Essex

boost

Postby David Gentleman » Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:51 pm